Wamono A to Z Vol III: Japanese Light Mellow Funk Disco & Boogie 1978-1988

Various Artists

Wamono A to Z Vol III: Japanese Light Mellow Funk Disco & Boogie 1978-1988

  • Label: 180g
  • Catalogue number: 180GWALP03
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: 80's Soul, Beats Dancefloor, Boogie, Jazz Funk, Jazz Fusion, Modern Soul, Soul Funk, Soul Jazz
  • Origin: Japan



Side 1
1. Tetsuo Sakurai - "Kimono" (5:10)
2. Jadoes - "Friday Night" (extended dance mix) (5:44)
3. Yumi Sato - "Ame" (3:37)
4. Kiyohiko Ozaki - "Ojosan Ote Yawaraka Ni" (4:33)

Side 2
1. Hitomi Tohyama - "Rainy Driver" (4:29)
2. Sentimental City Romance - "Hello Suisei" (5:30)
3. Mizuki Koyama - "Kare Niwa Kanawanai" (4:29)
4. Hitomi Tohyama - "Sweet Soul Music (Kiss Of Life)" (3:50)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


For the latest edition of their essential Wamano A to Z compilation series - the third to date - DJ Yoshiwza Dynamite JP and Chintam have decided to focus on "Japanese light mellow funk, disco and boogie" tracks recorded between 1978 and '88. Like its' predecessors, the eight-track set is heavy on obscurities and little-known cuts, as well as bona fide killer cuts. There's much to savour throughout, from the intergalactic, slap-bass propelled boogie brilliance of Jadoes' 'Friday Night (Extended Mix)' and the laidback funk bliss of Yumi Sato's 'Ame', to the smooth jazz-funk lusciousness of Hitomi Tohyama's 'Rainy Driver' and the Latin-infused, Teena Marie style electrofunk brilliance of Mizuki Koyami's 'Kare Niwa Kanawanai'.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)