Mother's Garden: The Funky Sounds Of Female Africa 1975-1984

Various Artists

Mother's Garden: The Funky Sounds Of Female Africa 1975-1984

  • Label: Africa Seven
  • Catalogue number: ASVN022
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Disco, Afro Funk, Beats Dancefloor, Boogie, Disco, Funk, Sister Funk, Soul Funk, World
  • Origin: United Kingdom
Hurry up, only 1 left in stock!



Side 1
1. Letta Mbulu - "Kilimandjaro Take Us Higher" (4:55)
2. Uta Bella - "Enyin" (3:46)
3. Mona Finnih - "Ani Kewa Jo" (6:23)
4. Cida Desvarieux - "Nou Ke Sa Inmew" (4:29)
5. Christy - "Time Waits For No One" (3:14)

Side 2
1. Akofa Akoussah - "Tango" (3:02)
2. Carmen Ezumah - "Tala Tala" (2:24)
3. The Lijadu Sisters - "Danger" (5:50)
4. Bakambi N'Kela - "Kilimanjoro" (3:46)
5. Miriam Makeba - "Xica Da Silva" (5:17)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


With our Africa Airways series flying high we felt it is time to introduce a new compilation focusing on the unique contribution from some of Africa's most recognised female artists and some lesser known ones for good measure. We are excited to be launching this on Women's Day 2018 as our way to highlight the incredible, yet under-acknowledged musical contribution that African women have given to the funky sounds of Africa. Taking our cue from the Alice Walker essay "In Search of Our Mothers' Gardens", the creative sparks that inspired this collection of songs were formed in their Mothers' Gardens by Mothers who paved the way for their daughters to keep the creativity of black women alive through their strength and resilience. Whilst we have a bit more of a message with this one, we wouldn't be Africa Seven if it wasn't damn funky at the same time!