Hometown: Detroit Sessions 1990-2014


Hometown: Detroit Sessions 1990-2014

  • Label: Strut
  • Catalogue number: STRUT210LP
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Genres: Funky Jazz, Jazz, Modal Jazz, Modern Jazz, Soul Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Origin: United Kingdom



Side 1
1. "Wide & Blue" (8:09)
2. "Freddie's Groove" (10:31)

Side 2
1. "Juba" (5:58)
2. "Ode To Black Mothers" (7:32)
3. "Conjure Man" (4:27)

Side 3
1. "Libra Ahora" (13:14)
2. "Hometown" (7:56)

Side 4
1. "He The One We All Knew" (11:02)
2. "Marcus Garvey" (4:43)
3. "The Slave Ship Enterprise" (5:39)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Politically charged Motor City jazz collective Tribe has undergone something of a career rebirth in the last few years. The releases they played, produced and put out on their Tribe Records imprint in the '70s are rightly revered, but the truth is that they've made equally as good music since getting back into the studio in 1990 - as this brilliant retrospective from Strut proves.

The ten-track set contains both released material and previously unheard recordings, with highlights including a fantastic new version of "Juba" featuring Harold McKinney and his "McKinfolk" musicians, a daring new version of Tribe member Phil Ranelin's "He The One We All Knew" and the spiritual rallying cry that is "Marcus Garvey".

You may also be interested in the following product(s)