Mother Of Dreams & Secrets

Barney Mcall

Mother Of Dreams & Secrets

  • Label: Research
  • Catalogue number: RESEARCH03
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Genres: Ethnic, Instrumental, Jazz, Latin, Latin Jazz, Modern Jazz, Soul Jazz, Tropical, World
  • Origin: United Kingdom



Side 1
1. "Ellegua" (7:20)
2. "Mysteriss" (8:15)
Side 2
1. "Yemaya One" (7:52)
2. "Queen Of Witche" (9:45)
Side 3
1. "Heavenly Waters" (7:38)
2. "Yemaya Prayer" (2:34)
3. "Aguas Cristalinas" (7:47)
Side 4
1. "Venus As A Boy" (6:19)
2. "Abeokuta Suite" (10:57)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


On a trip to Cuba in 1996, Barney McAll was invited to a ceremony in honour of the Yoruba goddess Yemaya. The experience drew McAll, one of Australia's leading jazz pianists who had moved to New York to join Gary Bartz' band, to delve deeper into Cuban music and culture.

Originally released as a CD on the Jazzhead label in 2006, beside Hermeto Pascoal, Paul Grabowsky and many more, 'Mother of Dreams and Secrets' is a continuation of Barney's innovative exploration of sacred Afro-Cuban rhythms that has stood the test of time.

The album was recorded at Egrem Studios in Havana with some of Cuba's finest percussionists and musicians, alongside New York-based American and Australian players, including the likes of Kurt Rosenwinkel and Billy Harper.
Available for the first time on vinyl, spread over a double LP for optimum sound quality, and including a digital download.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)