Soul Of A Woman

Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings

Soul Of A Woman

  • Label: Daptone Records
  • Catalogue number: DAP050LPL
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Funk, Sister Funk, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Origin: United States
Hurry up, only 1 left in stock!



Side 1
1. "Matter Of Time" (3:20)
2. "Sail On!" (2:56)
3. "Just Give Me Your Time" (2:28)
4. "Come & Be A Winner" (2:53)
5. "Rumors" (2:29)
6. "Pass Me By" (3:15)

Side 2
1. "Searching For A New Day" (3:11)
2. "These Tears (No Longer For You)" (3:31)
3. "When I Saw Your Face" (3:19)
4. "Girl! (You Got To Forgive Him)" (4:06)
5. "Call On God" (3:32)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Before she passed away last year, Sharon Jones spent a couple of months recording what would become her final album with the Dap Kings. Released posthumously, Soul of a Woman is every bit as good as her previous collaborations with Bosco Mann's revivalist soul and funk band. Naturally, Jones death has added extra poignancy to the album's more melancholic moments (see "Just Give Me Your Time" and "Pass Me By" and "When I Saw Your Face"), but these sorrowful outings are contrasted by a string of rousing soul and funk anthems in her confident and effortlessly soulful style. With Mann and the rest of the Dap Kings excelling themselves in a bid to guarantee Jones' legacy, Soul of a Woman may well be Jones single finest album. It's certainly a fitting send off for one of soul's finest voices.