Give It Up

Soopastole Edits

Give It Up

  • Label: Soopastole
  • Catalogue number: SSR202
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Genres: Bboy Breaks, Beats, Beats Dancefloor, Funk, Mash-Ups, Re-edits and Reworks, Sister Funk, Soul Funk
  • Origin: United Kingdom



Side 1
1.    Kool & The Gang - "Give It Up" (DJ Soopasoul edit)
Side 2
1.    Aretha Franklin - "Rock Steady" (DJ Soopasoul edit)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Jalepeno Records regular DJ Soopasoul launched his amusingly titled Soopastole Edits series at the tail end of 2016, serving up a tasty seven-inch single that boasted rock solid re-rubs of a couple of party-starting classics. He's at it again on this follow-up. On the A-side, he takes his rusty scalpel to Kool & The Gang's meandering, 1970 instrumental cut "Give It Up", emphasizing the original's killer break and snaking saxophone lines. On the flip he takes a similar approach to reworking Aretha Franklin's peerless "Rock Steady", subtly tightening up the groove whilst emphasizing the bumping nature of the original beats.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)