The Name Of This Terrain

Danny Zeitlin

The Name Of This Terrain

  • Label: Now Again
  • Catalogue number: NA5227LP
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Beats Downtempo, Funky Jazz, Jazz, Jazz Fusion, Oddities, Psychedelia, Soul Jazz
  • Origin: United States



Side 1
1. "The Name Of This Terrain" (12:37)
2. "2 Steps Forward: 1 Step Back" (5:54)
3. "Gonna Take You Away" (2:50)

Side 2
1. "What's In It For You?" (7:02)
2. "Free Piece" (2:57)
3. "The Wizard" (7:14)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


Denny Zeitlin is a US jazz maestro perhaps best known for his work on the Invasion Of The Body Snatchers soundtrack. On this release for Now Again, we get treated to an unreleased 1969 LP he recorded with Mel Graves and George Marsh, previously only available as an acetate or limited private pressing. It's a powerful and expansive work with Zeitlin's limber piano playing up front, but reaching across styles in a fusion which gets seriously funky in some places, positively cosmic in others. The title track alone is a 12-minute opus which will take you far and wide, like all the best jazz should.

Now Again Reserve Special Product: Limited & hand-numbered gatefold LP + booklet + MP3 download code with obi-strip

You may also be interested in the following product(s)