We Want To Play For You

Brief Encounter

We Want To Play For You

  • Label: Athens Of The North
  • Catalogue number: AOTNLP019
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: 80's Soul, Boogie, Disco, Modern Soul, Rare Grooves, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Origin: United Kingdom



  1. Rocking
  2. Since I Met You Girl
  3. Now I Know I Love You
  4. Just For Love
  5. Always
  6. We Want To Play
  7. Sweet Tender Loving
  8. Open Up Your Heart
  9. Together In Love
  10. If You Want My Love

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.

Throughout the 1970s, North Carolina outfit Brief Encounter released a string of fine, but largely overlooked, funk and soul 45s. Their most significant and celebrated release though, is the 1981 album ‘We Want To Play’, a warm and groovy collection of boogie-fired soul songs that regularly changes hands for significant sums online. As this Athens Of The North reissue proves, the LP has lost none of its luster over the years. Highlights include the inspired string-drenched ballad ‘Now I Know I Love You’, the groovy dancefloor heat of ‘Rocking’ and the soaring gospel-disco brilliance of ‘Always’.
You may also be interested in the following product(s)