• Label: RR Gems
  • Catalogue number: RRGEMS06
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Instrumental, Jazz, Modal Jazz, Modern Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Origin: Europe

Availability: Out of stock



Side 1
1. "In The Mess" (8:16)
2. "Keepers" (5:37)
3. "Qwikness" (4:55)
4. "Just Passing Thru" (3:19)

Side 2
1. "Ineffable Intro" (2:41)
2. "Medicine Woman" (11:44)
3. "Return Of The Good Enemy" (3:07)
4. "Welcom To Wohlom" (5:59)

We Accept:

Follow us on:


Subscribe to our newsletter and hear first about special offers and promotions.


While this may look like a reissue of a long-lost 1970s free-jazz rarity, it's actually a brand spanking new album. It is, in fact, the debut album from ever-changing collective BRAHJA, whose de facto bandleader Devin Brahja Waldman has previously collaborated with Patti Smith, Lydia Lunch and Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore. The self-titled set is pleasingly trippy, with more traditional spiritual and improvised jazz cuts nestling side by side with more experimental electrified, alt rock-influenced efforts (see "Qwikness"), delightfully out-there hybrid pieces (see "Keepers", which boasts drifting vocal chants and Terry Riley style synthesizer motifs) and spooky, early Cinematic Orchestra type fare ("Welcome To Wohlhom", "Return of the Good Enemy"). 

You may also be interested in the following product(s)