Visit our YouTube channel

Peace Chant Volume 2

Various Artists

  • Label: Tramp
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Funky Jazz, Jazz, Modal Jazz, Soul Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: TRLP90552

Availability: In stock


From 1963 to 2014: "Peace Chant - raw deep and spiritual jazz" exhibits 51 years of music. A well matched anthology with sounds to dive into, hard rhythms to dance to and vocals to meditate on.

The Tramp Records crew has compiled 8 tracks in nice order and dramaturgy. Some tunes you might have never heard before unless you own one of the rare original vintage vinyl records. Peace Chant is released on two separate LPs with own catalogue numbers and on one CD. Some songs I can't get out of my mind.

These days Mabon Dawud Quintet from Ethiopia is on the trail of Mulatu Astatke. Tramp Records provides the first release of "Abeba" - a funky and stoic track in Amharic mother tongue sung by a high male lamenting voice.

Even more haunting is "Ain't Gonna Wait Too Long" by Thomas Meloncon. The self-taught guitar player recorded this protest song at the age of 20. Voice, guitar, congas and double bass are plenty enough for a heavily pushing song complaining that black man's slavery isn't gone after 400 years. Artist, poet and civil right activist Meloncon (alias Muntu Mwaminifu) wrote and directed theatre and radio plays. His works are collected at Texas Southern University in Houston. "Ain't gonna wait too long" probably is his earliest artistic outing, he just had left school in 1968.

The compilation concludes with a song by Now, a band no one outside Munich might know. "Easy Tune for Dancing" can be found on a record of cultural and concert location Feierwerk form 1990. It really was a surprise to hear the quintet of trumpeter Konstantin Kern and Klaus Pfister on sax playing Afro-Cuban jazz that easily and nonchalant. If Dizzy Gillespie turned up with his bent trumpet and Lalo Schifrin sat in like he did on "Gillespiana Suite" I wouldn't be astonished!

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Coomassi


    Karl Hector & The Malcouns

    LP £18.99

  2. My Babe / The Sneak

    My Babe / The Sneak

    Sonny Jackson / Jimmy Oliver's Orchestra

    7 inch £6.99

  3. Drugstore


    Tony Iglio

    LP £24.99

  4. Yegele Tezeta

    Yegele Tezeta


    7 inch £7.99

  5. Tchero Adari Negn

    Tchero Adari Negn

    Alemayehu Eshete

    7 inch £7.49

  6. Happiness In Every Style

    Happiness In Every Style

    Nicole Willis and The Soul Investigators

    LP £15.99

Peace Chant Volume 2



Side 1
1.    The Mabon Dawud Quintet - "Abeba" (4:58)
2.    Thomas Meloncon - "Ain't Gonna Wait Too Long" (2:49)
3.    Al Williams Quintet Plus One - "Sandance" (2:32)
4.    Deep Jazz - "Mystic Sky" (8:22)
Side 2
1.    Sheila Landis - "Leigh Ann's Dance" (5:16)
2.    Sal Nistico - "Beautiful Black Casanova" (6:47)
3.    Roy Hytower & The Crowd Pleasers - "Song Of Deliverance" (part 1) (3:16)
4.    Now - "Easy Tune For Dancing" (3:55)