Visit our YouTube channel

Light & Sound Of Mogadishu

Various Artists

  • Label: Afro 7
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Funk, Afro Rock, Funk, Tropical, World
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: AFR7LP01

Availability: In stock


The debut release of AFRO7 records brings forward the greatest acts from the seventies Somali scene for the first time on Long-player vinyl. The release comes in an authentic sleeve with background story, new pictures, and carefully remastered audio quality that surpasses the original releases. First compilation of it’s kind with this audio quality, no cassette fidelity here! A must for fans of music from the upper East African Region including Ethiopia and Sudan.

Light & Sound was one of the few labels that operated privately in Mogadishu in the seventies. With their own small recording studio, bands and artists were scheduled for sessions and reels were sent off to be pressed in Lebanon and Kenya. Dahir Hagil Ali who operated the Light & Sound label sold them in his shop among light bulbs and lamps. With pressing runs as small as 150 copies, needless to say the L&S catalogue remains exceptionally scarce to this day. Only one third of the full L&S catalog is documented online.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Ethiopian Modern Instrumentals Hits

    Ethiopian Modern Instrumentals Hits

    Various Artists

    LP £16.99

  2. Niagara



    LP £18.99

Light & Sound Of Mogadishu



Side 1
1. Sharero Band - "Yaan Cuskanaa"
2. Sharero Band - "Caashooy"
3. Sharero Band - "Sharero"

Side 2
1. Ahmed Rabsha & Hibbo Nuura - "Bo Hol You"
2. Magool - "Wa'ly Sita"
3. Magool - "Shimbir Yohou"