Visit our YouTube channel



  • Label: Afro 7
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Funk, Ethnic, Soul Jazz, Tropical, World
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Catalogue number: AFR710

Availability: In stock


The Sudanese London collective The Scorpios have been making waves the past few years after the Afro7 release of their acclaimed debut release. Voted album of the week last summer by Gilles Peterson, many have come to treasure this great album that shines more and more upon repeated listenings. A future classic for sure!

We’re really glad to be able to offer more music from The Scorpios, this is their new hot single straight off the press! Two sides of Sudanese magic recorded at the legendary Abbey Road studios, ‘Mashena‘ is a take on the classic Sisters Al Balabil tune. The new version is spiced up with a tight percussive backbone, huge drums, flute and the lovely vocals of talented Regia Ishag. One for the dancefloor! Flip the single and you’ll find a beutiful slowburn traditional gem Samha. Comes in bespoke jacket and lovely custom made labels. We only made 500 of this so head over to the Afro7 music shop to secure your copy of the single.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. EVA / Take Yo’ Praise

    EVA / Take Yo’ Praise

    Jean Jacques Perrey

    7 inch £7.99

  2. Mombasa Roots

    Mombasa Roots

    Mombasa Roots

    12 inch £16.99

  3. What's Goin' On

    What's Goin' On

    Penny Goodwin

    7 inch £19.99

  4. Light of my Life

    Light of my Life

    Ben Pirani

    7 inch £10.99

  5. Tahira Tropical Edits

    Tahira Tropical Edits


    12 inch £8.49

  6. Baby What Has Happened To Our Love

    Baby What Has Happened To Our Love

    The Ringleaders

    7 inch £7.99




Mashena b/w Samha