Visit our YouTube channel

A World Of Masks

The Heliocentrics

  • Label: Soundway
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Funk Rock, Funky Jazz, Psychedelia, Soul Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: SNDWLP093

Availability: In stock


The Heliocentrics are a group for which genres are meaningless and boundaries invisible. Since first appearing on DJ Shadow’s 2006 album 'The Outsider' the group have gone on to release a string of records that float through jazz, hip-hop, psych, krautrock, and musique concrete whilst collaborating with numerous genre heavyweights from Mulatu Astake to Gaslamp Killer and picking up prestigious fans along the way, such as Madlib and the recently departed David Axelrod.

The primarily instrumental group, who operate out of their vintage analogue studio in East London called the Quatermass Sound Lab, bring in a new singer on album number four - a young Slovakian singer called Barbora Patkova. The result is an album that takes the band, already solidified in ever-expanding grooves and rhythms into new previously unexplored dimensions.

The group’s deep-set ability to craft music intuitively and impulsively stems from a desire to avoid typical processes or generic structures. Since its conception, the band's music has mainly been created from live improvisation. This musical approach gives the band its own sound and identity – "for anything to happen it must be at that time from the people in the room, and on the spot". A decade of such sonic adventures has resulted in a tightly knit bond that the group refer to as “almost a form of telepathy” with “musical changes that otherwise would be near impossible to write."

Limited edition NUMBERED 180g gold vinyl with a paste-on gatefold sleeve.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Impacto Inminente

    Impacto Inminente

    Los Mambo Jambo

    LP £14.49

  2. Coomassi


    Karl Hector & The Malcouns

    LP £18.99

  3. Transatlantic


    Epirus Quartet

    LP £15.99

  4. La Poliziotta

    La Poliziotta

    Gianni Ferrio

    LP £26.99

  5. Laure


    Franco Micalizzi

    LP £26.99

  6. African Funk Experimentals 1975 to 1978
A World Of Masks



Side 1
1. "Made Of The Sun" (4:14)
2. "Time" (4:03)
3. "Human Zoo" (4:47)
4. "A World Of Masks" (7:45)
Side 2
1. "Capital Of Alone" (3:44)
2. "Dawn Chorus" (2:17)
3. "The Silverback" (3:32)
4. "Oh Brother" (3:22)
5. "The Uncertainty Principle" (5:29)