Visit our YouTube channel

Marchin' On

Heath Brothers

  • Label: Everlast
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Funky Jazz, Instrumental, Jazz, Soul Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: EVERLANDJAZZ001

Availability: Out of stock


Everland Jazz present a reissue of The Heath Brothers' Marchin' On!, originally released in 1976. "This obscure and difficult to find LP is the Heath Brothers' debut album and is considered to be their best. Marchin' On! is unquestionably a masterpiece and is a much sought-after album. With its wealth of riffs, it is much appreciated by samplers and has been sampled by various contemporary artists. It was originally released in 1976 on Strata-East, a label at the time co-owned by Stanley Cowell. The album flows fluidly, meticulously in a warm rich blend with the four part 'Smilin' Billy Suite' being a tour de force on its own. All suites have the same anchor in melody but each branches out to its own distinctive song varying from relaxed to light to dramatic and upbeat. The Heath Brothers was formed in 1975 by brothers Jimmy, Percy, Albert Heath and the much celebrated pianist Stanley Cowell in Philadelphia. The band continued later on with the brothers and alternate new members, with at one point the very talented 'Mtume' who is Jimmy Heath's son, joining." --Rachel Kinoti

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Thought Seeds

    Thought Seeds

    Paris Smith Quintet

    7 inch £9.99

  2. Lady, Lady, Lady

    Lady, Lady, Lady

    Boogieman Orchestra

    7 inch £7.99

  3. We're Gonna Make It

    We're Gonna Make It

    New World / Crystal Clear

    7 inch £25.00

  4. Sad Nile / Muswill Hill

    Sad Nile / Muswill Hill

    Polyversal Souls (Poets of Rhythm)

    7 inch £5.99

  5. Please Send My Baby Back

    Please Send My Baby Back

    Sunny Blair

    7 inch £6.99

  6. I Got So Much Trouble In My Mind

    I Got So Much Trouble In My Mind

    Sir Joe Quarterman and The Free Soul

    LP £14.99

Marchin' On



Side 1
1. "Warm Valley" (2:33)
2. "Tafadhali" (3:20)
3. "The Watergate Blues" (5:44)
4. "Maimoun" (8:04)
Side 2
1. "Smilin' Billy Suite" (part I) (6:01)
2. "Smilin' Billy Suite" (part II) (4:24)
3. "Smilin' Billy Suite" (part III) (3:25)
4. "Smilin' Billy Suite" (part IV) (4:34)