Visit our YouTube channel

Afro-Colombian Sound Modernizers

Son Palenque

  • Label: Vampi Soul
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Afro, Folk, Latin, World
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Catalogue number: VAMPI158

Availability: In stock


First-ever compilation of the recordings of Son Palenque, the finest expression of the musical union between Africa and Colombia which took place in Colombia's Caribbean coast during the 70s and 80s. Son Palenque took the rich variety of African styles played at the popular sound systems and merged them into the region's traditions, giving shape to entrancing songs which featured wonderful vocals.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. High Class Woman

    High Class Woman

    Hubert Robinson

    2 x LP £18.99

  2. Pimples and Braces / The Hunt

    Pimples and Braces / The Hunt


    2 x LP £18.99

  3. We're Gonna Make It

    We're Gonna Make It

    New World / Crystal Clear

    2 x LP £18.99

  4. Walking On The Moon (Men Are Starving)

    Walking On The Moon (Men Are Starving)

    Rev Jamel and Bob Johnson

    2 x LP £18.99

  5. The Budos Band

    The Budos Band

    The Budos Band

    2 x LP £18.99

  6. Coffy


    Roy Ayers

    2 x LP £18.99

Afro-Colombian Sound Modernizers



  1. Cumbia africana
  2. Unye unye
  3. Tungalala (el sapo)
  4. Chande
  5. Dame un trago
  6. Chofao apele
  7. Atina tina
  8. El tigre
  9. Arriba arriba
  10. Azuca y limón
  11. Palengue palengue
  12. Adiós batata
  13. Pabete
  14. Achinagua
  15. Larepa’ sa
  16. El tilitata
  17. El moján
  18. Alocusa
  19. La zorrononona