Visit our YouTube channel

Stop Time!

Rolf Kuhn

  • Label: Sonorama Records
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Instrumental, Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: SONOC85

Availability: In stock


First release of a previously unknown album from the personal archives of "clarinet bird" Rolf Kühn, recorded 1962 in Hamburg.

Outstanding modern jazz and hard bop session featuring Klaus Doldinger (ts), Ingfried Hoffmann (org/ p), Cees See (d) and Herman Schoonderwalt (b), with plenty of tunes made famous by Horace Silver ("Sister Sadie"), Charlie Parker ("Au Privave"), Miles Davis ("Solar") or Thelonious Monk ("Bemsha Swing") - all arranged by Kühn.

Comes as a limited vinyl LP commemorating the 85th birthday of Rolf Kühn, carefully mastered in 2014, with unreleased photos and new sleeve notes written by Kühn's biographer Maxi Sickert.

Stop Time!



  1. Sister Sadie
  2. Let's Do It
  3. Hippy
  4. The Nearness Of You
  5. Bemsha Swing
  6. This Can't Be Love
  7. The Birth Of The Blues
  8. Solar
  9. Stop Time
  10. Scrapple From The Apple
  11. Mayreh
  12. Blowing The Blues Away
  13. Melodie In D
  14. Au Privave