Visit our YouTube channel

Praise Poems 6

Various Artists

  • Label: Tramp
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Folk Funk, Funk Rock, Funky Jazz, Psychedelia, Soul Funk, Soul Jazz
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Catalogue number: TRLP9072

Availability: In stock


Like all its predecessors, this sixth volume contains sixteen Soul, Folk and Jazz nuggets from between the early 1970s and 1980. The fact that ALL songs have not been compiled elsewhere yet is a jaw-dropping phenomenon! The track listing starts with the amazing "Cherokee" by Verses. Next comes Monopoly's latin-jazz jewel "Things I Could Be" followed by a monster cover version of Stephen Stills' "For What It's Worth". Fans of Oscar Brown Jr. will be delighted to discover Federico Cervantes as well as three more little known but outstanding funky-jazz tracks. Orange Lake Drive's insanely romantic and hopelessly optimistic "Rare Thing" steps into new territory and the recordings by Michael Kiser, Alan Burton and Waves prove to be beautiful examples of privately produced sunshine pop from the 1970s. Garage 7" collectors will freak out to finally get a chance to listen to Daybreak's super hard to find cover version of Richie Havens' all time classic "Freedom" while others may agree that the unbelievably melancholic "Soda Creek Ferry" by Ted Ritchie is the highlight of this sixth volume. The album closes with "Laughing In The Sun" by Elrige Anselmi and Flood's incredible six minute psych masterpiece "White Bird".

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Funkier Than a Mosquito’s Tweeter

    Funkier Than a Mosquito’s Tweeter

    Nina Simone

    7 inch £6.99

  2. Fools Paradise Favorites

    Fools Paradise Favorites

    Various Artists

    LP + 7 inch £17.99

  3. Let Me Say Dis About Dat

    Let Me Say Dis About Dat


    7 inch £10.99

  4. East Meets West

    East Meets West

    Ahmed Abdul-Malik

    LP £13.99

  5. Sounds Of Africa

    Sounds Of Africa

    Ahmed Abdul-Malik

    LP £15.99

  6. Fingertips


    Bill Doggett

    LP £9.99

Praise Poems 6



Side 1
1. Verses - "Cherokee" (3:54)
2. Monopoly - "Things I Could Be" (2:44)
3. Cesar's Children - "For What It's Worth" (2:33)
4. Federico Cervantes - "Betcha Never Knew" (3:20)
Side 2
1. Rama Dyushambee - "For All The Good Times" (6:02)
2. Fusion - "Going Crazy" (3:43)
3. Lola Falana - "It's A Good Feeling" (3:27)
4. Robert Cote - "Rare Thing" (feat Orange Lake Drive) (3:37)
Side 3
1. Tony St Thomas - "Love Is Forever" (5:26)
2. Michael Kiser - "Melting The Ice" (3:50)
3. Alan Burton - "Sunshine You'll Love It" (3:00)
4. Waves - "Feeling The Sunshine" (4:13)
Side 4
1. Daybreak - "Freedom" (4:37)
2. Ted Ritchie & Friend - "Soda Creek Ferry" (4:01)
3. Elrige Anselmi - "Laughing In The Sun" (2:49)
4. Flood - "White Bird" (6:00)