Visit our YouTube channel



  • Label: Rocafort Records
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Disco, Afro Funk, Disco, Funk, Soul Funk, Tropical, World
  • Format: 12 inch
  • Catalogue number: ROC021

Availability: Out of stock


20 year old Jean Ondeno from Gabon is one of many African singers who found joy in the Parisian Afro-disco scene of the late 70s. Blessed with the voice of Africa's sweetest angel, Ondeno caught the ear of the French radio presenter Alphonse Marie Toukas who in turn introduced him to producer Philippe Brejean. Together they released 4 tracks, of which 'Mayolye' has become a sought-after dance floor rarity over the decades.

Containing all the essential ingredients of any afro-disco floorfiller, 'Mayolye' seduces sweetly, rhythmically and fast, with the percussion and wah-wah guitar on full throttle, and vocals insistently hypnotic from start to finish. The sax is possibly the only languid element on the record until the break comes along for you to catch your breath.

For this special 12 inch release, Rocafort Records have grouped the original version alongside a Nik Weston Official Mukatsuku edit.

Kindly issued from the vast afrobeat collection of Soul Koffi.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Look Out (I'm Gonna Blow Your Mind)

    Look Out (I'm Gonna Blow Your Mind)

    Georgia Soul Twisters

    7 inch £7.99

  2. Tamfo Nyi Ekyir

    Tamfo Nyi Ekyir

    Apagya Showband

    7 inch £7.99

  3. Roforofo Fight

    Roforofo Fight

    Fela Kuti

    LP £14.99

  4. There's a Man

    There's a Man

    Joey Irving

    7 inch £7.99

  5. Maribayasa / Get Up James

    Maribayasa / Get Up James

    Rail Band / Les Ambassadeurs du Motel de Bamako

    7 inch £7.99

  6. Dini Safarrar

    Dini Safarrar

    Mor Thiam

    CD £7.99




Side 1
1. "Mayolye" (original single version) (3:42)

Side 2
1. "Mayolye" (Nik Weston Mukatsuku edit) (5:26)