Visit our YouTube channel

Made For Pleasure

New Mastersounds

  • Label: Legere
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Funk, Funky Jazz, Soul Funk, Soul Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: LEGO096VL

Availability: Out of stock


The New Mastersounds rank among the most preeminent modern soul and funk bands of their time. Having started out in Leeds, UK, the quartet tour the globe regularly, bringing their hard-charging, delectably greasy jams to all corners of the globe, to feed a hungry fan base that stretches from New York City to Tokyo, San Francisco to Amsterdam and all points in between. In 2015, they return with their tenth studio album "Made For Pleasure", their most sprawling and ambitious record to date.

The band's core four-guitarist Eddie Roberts, drummer Simon Allen, bassist Pete Shand and organist Joe Tatton-are joined on the 11-track effort by guests including super fabulous soul chanteuse Charly Lowry, revered percussionist/vibraphonist Mike Dillon and the North Cali-based West Coast Horns, featuring tenor saxophonist Joe Cohen and trumpeter Mike Olmos.

Recorded in New Orleans, The New Mastersounds high-step through the humidity and heat leaving no soul or funk touchstone unturned. Both the title track and "High & Wide" are drenched in The-Meters-meet-Lee-Dorsey Big Easy funk, while tracks like "Enough Is Enough," "Joy" and "Just Gotta Run" are firmly rooted in classic soul sister rhythm & blues tradition; think Tina Turner, Ann Peebles, Bettye LaVette. Super-charged by Eddie Roberts' stinging guitar leads, "Cigar Time" and "Sitting On My Knees" take a decidedly soul-jazz turn, diving headlong into Grant Green grit and groove.

Capping off "Made For Pleasure" and further validating its title is a dubbed out reinvention of Iggy Azalea's smash hit "Fancy" that cleverly turns the pop artist's ode to materialism into a 21st century stoner anthem with the repurposed refrain, "I'm so irie."

The New Mastersounds know what feels good and deliver it in spades on their latest long player, and rightfully so, as it was after-all...Made For Pleasure.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. A New Constellation

    A New Constellation


    LP £20.99

  2. Sad Nile / Muswill Hill

    Sad Nile / Muswill Hill

    Polyversal Souls (Poets of Rhythm)

    7 inch £5.99

  3. Victim Of Love

    Victim Of Love

    Charles Bradley

    LP £14.99

  4. Bumpity Bump / She's Me Hook, Line & Sinker
  5. New Orleans Funk Vol 3: The Original Sound Of Funk: Two-Way-Pocky-Way, Gumbo Ya Ya & The Mardi Gras Mambo
  6. Eddie Fisher & The Next One Hundred Years
Made For Pleasure



Side 1
1. "Made For Pleasure" (2:22)
2. "High & Wide" (3:57)
3. "Enough Is Enough" (feat Charly Lowry) (5:36)
4. "Fancy" (5:56)
5. "Cigar Time" (6:51)
Side 2
1. "Joy" (feat Charly Lowry) (4:13)
2. "Sitting On My Knees" (3:28)
3. "Let's Do Another" (4:14)
4. "Pho Baby" (4:40)
5. "Just Gotta Run" (feat Charly Lowry) (4:20)