Visit our YouTube channel


Michel Sardaby

  • Label: World Seven
  • Origin: Europe
  • Genres: Funky Jazz, Instrumental, Jazz, Jazz Fusion, Soul Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: WSVN003

Availability: In stock


World Seven is a record label brought to you by the Paris & London based Africa Seven crew ( We have joined forces with a collective of label heads, music freaks & crusty crate diggers to expand our musical quest - to search the world for sounds, vibes & scenes which cross musical genres and geographical borders. 

Michel Sardaby was born in Fort de France, Martinique in the French West Indies in 1935. As a child he was surrounded by music in his dad's brasserie. He became a child prodigy on the piano and went on to study art at the Boulle School in Paris before deciding to concentrate on a career as a jazz pianist. Throughout the 60's, he played piano with blues musicians like Sonny Boy Williamson and T-Bone Walker, at the same time beginning to release more jazz-focused solo albums.

The record was recorded in New York in 1975 and the personnel on record is formidable. Billy Hart (McCoy Tyner alumni) is on drums, Richard Davis on bass and Leopold Flemming on Percussion. Michel himself is on keys and delivers a Rhodes master class. Features the classic funky jazz cut 'Welcome New Warmth' as championed by Gilles Peterson over many years.

The album itself has been remastered specially for vinyl and pressed (at the request of Michel himself) on heavy weight vinyl.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Attica Blues

    Attica Blues

    Archie Shepp

    7 inch £25.99

  2. Sweet Power Collection

    Sweet Power Collection

    James Mason

    2 x 7 inch £14.49

  3. We Be All Africans

    We Be All Africans

    Idris Ackamoor & The Pyramids

    LP + CD £17.99

  4. The Offering

    The Offering

    Darkhouse Family

    LP £13.99

  5. The Hustler

    The Hustler

    Willie Colon

    LP £14.99

  6. Kenya Special: Selected East African Recordings from the 1970s & ‘80s



Side 1
1. "Gail"
2. "Spindrift"
3. "Ten Kisses Short As One"
4. "Welcome New Warmth"

Side 2
1. "Help Me Belong Here"
2. "Song For My Children"
3. "One Long As Twenty"
4. "Sambando Nas Ondas"