Visit our YouTube channel

Anthology 1972-84

Leroy Hutson

  • Label: Acid Jazz
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: 80's Soul, Boogie, Modern Soul, Northern Soul, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Format: 2 x LP
  • Catalogue number: AJX2LP419

Availability: In stock


A legend to soul fans, Leroy Hutson's catalogue has been increasingly sought after by collectors and producers since the last time it was widely available nearly 20 years ago. College friends and early collaborator with Donny Hathaway then hand-picked as Curtis Mayfield’s replacement in The Impressions, his solo career resulted in 7 albums for Mayfield’s Curtom label. They are considered some of the greatest of the era and the very best music from them is collected here.

Licensed from Mr Hutson himself, this represents his first approved Anthology, and comes in a beautiful package with an essay by soul expert and Mojo Award winning writer Tony Rounce and memorabilia and photos from Mr. Hutson’s own personal archive. The first single lifted to preview the album – the previously unreleased Positive Forces has been championed at 6 Music by Gilles Peterson who described it as one of the most important discoveries of the past ten years.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Landscapes


    The Greg Foat Group

    10 inch £16.99

  2. Embalo


    Tenorio Jr.

    LP £17.99

  3. Rhythmical Movement

    Rhythmical Movement

    Stelvio Cipriani

    LP £11.99

  4. Cosmic Music

    Cosmic Music

    John Coltrane

    LP £24.99

  5. Sweet Power Collection

    Sweet Power Collection

    James Mason

    2 x 7 inch £14.49

  6. Funny Girl

    Funny Girl

    James Mason

    7 inch £9.99

Anthology 1972-84



Side 1
1. "Cool Out" (2:57)
2. "All Because Of You" (single version) (3:31)
3. "Don’t It Make You Feel Good" (3:02)
4. "Love The Feeling" (2:47)
5. "Positive Forces" (3:41)
Side 2
1. "Lucky Fellow" (5:02)
2. "Never Know What You Can Do (Give It A Try)" (3:46)
3. "Love Oh Love" (3:53)
4. "Ella Weez" (3:00)
5. "Could This Be Love" (3:02)
Side 3
1. "So In Love With You" (2:52)
2. "Think I’m Falling In Love" (3:41)
3. "Closer To The Source" (6:09)
4. "Give This Love A Try" (3:52)
5. "Right Or Wrong" (4:50)
Side 4
1. "Now That I Found You" (4:29)
2. "Get To This (You’ll Get To Me)" (3:53)
3. "Lover’s Holiday" (3:47)
4. "Time Brings On A Change" (4:41)