Visit our YouTube channel


Karl Hector & The Malcouns

  • Label: Now Again
  • Origin: United States
  • Genres: Afro, Funk, Funk Rock, Psychedelia, World
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: NA511112

Availability: In stock


Third and final limited edition vinyl EP by the world-psych-funk ensemble; original artwork by Kevin Lyons, screenprinted by Anti Designs.

For all intents and purposes, Karl Hector might as well be another nom-de-plume of Jay Whitefield (producer and guitarist for the Poets of Rhythm and the Whitefield Brothers) who, along with Thomas Myland and Zdenko Curlija, founded Karl Hector and The Malcouns in the early 2000s. Alongside Bo Baral, other members of the Poets of Rhythm and crack Munich-based session musicians, Whitefield, Myland and Curlija crafted nearly twenty tracks for their debut, Sahara Swing, an album that swung with influences from across the African diaspora.

The trio has since released two vinyl-only EPs: Coomassi will be the last, and is the opening volley of their Unstraight Ahead album, which will see release in summer 2014. As with the release of Tamanrasset and Ngunga Yeti Fofa, these seven songs demonstrate The Malcouns' deft handling of musics from Eastern and Northern Africa alongside Western psychedelia, jazz and funk.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Tribute to Noro Morales

    Tribute to Noro Morales

    Kako and His After Hours Orchestra

    LP £11.99

  2. Prisoner in Love

    Prisoner in Love

    Kalbata & Mixmonster

    7 inch £6.99

  3. Impacto Inminente

    Impacto Inminente

    Los Mambo Jambo

    LP £14.49

  4. Transatlantic


    Epirus Quartet

    LP £15.99

  5. Follow Me to the Popcorn

    Follow Me to the Popcorn

    Various Artists

    2 x LP £17.99

  6. Space Echo: The Mystery Behind The Cosmic Sound Of Cabo Verde Finally Revealed



  1. Ombele Reprise
  2. The Cave
  3. Beyond Squares
  4. Chess Break
  5. Coomassi
  6. Irtijal
  7. Medium Rare Pt. 1