Visit our YouTube channel

The Return

Kamaal Williams

  • Label: Black
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Broken Beat, Funky Jazz, Instrumental, Jazz, Jazz Fusion, Modern Jazz, Soul Jazz, Spiritual Jazz
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: BFR001LP

Availability: In stock


Whether re-defining experimental fusion sounds with the hugley acclaimed Yussef Kamaal, or his catalogue of 12”s for imprints such as MCDE, Eglo, and Rhythm Section as Henry Wu, South London’s Kamaal Williams has been a key figure in his thriving international scene for the past few years. The Return is a natural evolution from the Yussef Kamaal project, mining the influence of visionary jazz but blended with all
kinds of texture, sounds and signals from the over-saturated London streets.
At times the keyboard work evokes the classic 70s fusion work of Lonnie Liston Smith or Roy Ayers, but underpinned by rhythms more reminiscent of blunted hip-hop and arrangements subliminally laced with the cut-ups of pirate radio. Progressive, funky, cosmic, exploratory and effortlessly musical, this is the sound of a musician honing their craft into thrilling new shapes.
In the US the like of Kamasi Washington and Thundercat have made great strides in opening a whole new dialogue between jazz and hip-hop, drawing in a young, highly engaged new audience in the process. Kamaal Williams mine a similar seam on the other side of the Atlantic alongside other exciting London talents such as Ezra Collective, Ruby Rushton and Shabaka Hutchings.
The Return is exactly that: a return and refinement to the sound Yussef Kamaal were progenitors of, and first set the scene for one of the most exciting musical movements London has had in years.

180g black vinyl edition with DL card

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Freedom Of Speech

    Freedom Of Speech

    Billy Parker's Fourth World

    LP £22.99

  2. Wildflower



    LP £13.99

  3. Earth



    2 x LP £18.99

  4. Tunji


    Nat Birchall

    7 inch £7.99

  5. A New Life, Vol. 2

    A New Life, Vol. 2

    Various Artists

    2 x LP £18.99

  6. Spiritual Jazz 9: Blue Notes Part 1

    Spiritual Jazz 9: Blue Notes Part 1

    Various Artists

    2 x LP £18.99

The Return



Side 1
1. "Salaam" (8:32)
2. "Broken Theme" (4:27)
3. "The Return" (1:07)
4. "High Roller" (2:52)
5. "Situations" (live In Milan) (2:57)

Side 2
1. "Catch The Loop" (6:44)
2. "Rhythm Commission" (2:28)
3. "Medina" (6:52)
4. "LDN Shuffle" (5:25)
5. "Aisha" (2:19)