Visit our YouTube channel

Keep On Moving


  • Label: Fire
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Beats, Electronica, Funk, Jazz Funk, Jazz Fusion, Post Punk, Soul Funk
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: FAME233LP

Availability: In stock


It feels like someone left the light on in the studio and it all just ran itself, there had been a funky human input earlier in the day but, by a Darwinian machine-led kind of osmosis, the tracks recorded spent the wee small hours self-reducing and simplifying themselves. Marinated in music. “I believe more in the scissors than I do in the pencil,” said Truman Capote. ”Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication,” opined Leonardo da Vinci much earlier in proceedings. Yes, it’s the space around the object, what you leave out that makes what you leave in so important. ESG know this. Sure they can play the game but it’s the swagger of the groove and the minimal topping – like an anti-cup cake – that makes this unique New York sisterhood so appealing on ‘Keep On Moving’. Sampled on TV ads, lauded by critics and swooned over on the dancefloor, ESG’s post-punk took out the grunge and polished the basics. Cut them open and “less is more” is written all the way through. ‘Keep On Moving’ was released just over ten years ago to much praise (Q said it was “even better” than 2002’s much loved ‘Step Off’). ESG had been sparring partners for PiL and early hip hop and four years after the ‘Off’, they were onto something new – rhythm as core, reflective storylines about relationship management, sensuality and insanity gather around the bass fix but they’re much blurrier than the incessant beats. Inadvertently they unmask techno and glitch and leave out any kind of superfluous fluff. It’s hard and temple throbbing. Turn it up. And keep moving. “If there's one tune which sums up ESG's enduring lust for life, it's the beautifully-judged Black Flag/early techno crossover of the closing 'Gimme A Blast'.” The Guardian 5/5 //  “This album's every percussive aspect has been honed to impart the maximum amount of pleasure.” The Observer  //  “Despite their influence on younger bands (you can hear LCD Soundsystem's knobbly grooves on ‘Insane’), ESG still sound like nothing else.” The Guardian BLUE VINYL + DOWNLOAD CODE

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Funkshone 2

    Funkshone 2


    LP £10.99

  2. Als Place / Communicate

    Als Place / Communicate

    Enrique Olivarez

    7 inch £4.99

  3. Struttin'


    The Meters

    LP £14.99

  4. Skullsnaps


    Skull Snaps

    LP £16.99

  5. Strugglin'



    7 inch £6.00

  6. Hum-Bug Pts 1&2

    Hum-Bug Pts 1&2


    7 inch £6.99

Keep On Moving



Side 1
1. "Purely Physical" (6:21)
2. "Keep On Moving" (4:12)
3. "Insane" (Tambourine mix) (2:58)
4. "The Road" (6:14)
5. "I'd Do It For You" (3:01)
Side 2
1. "Everything Goes" (4:43)
2. "Ex" (6:02)
3. "Insane" (Bass mix) (2:56)
4. "Gimme A Blast" (6:09)