Visit our YouTube channel

Nhu Djon

Conjunto Jovens Africanos

  • Label: Ostinato
  • Origin: United States
  • Genres: Afro, Afro Disco, Afro Funk, Soul Funk, Tropical, World
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Catalogue number: OST4502

Availability: In stock


Continuing Ostinato's series of Cape Verde 45s showcasing diasporan bands that are staples in Europe's Cape Verdean communities, Ostinato Records presents timeless dance music for the summer by Conjunto Jovens Africanos, founded by Ze Orlando, a respected producer originally from São Tomé. Formed and originally based in Lisbon, the band fused raw Funaná rhythms from the Cape Verdean island of Santiago with syncopated electric guitars, raucous synthesizers, relentless percussion, and addictive vocals that kept their compatriots on their feet across little known Krioulu nightclubs in Europe's major cities. First released in 1984, Conjuntos Jovens Africanos' "Nhu Jhon" and "Volta Pa Terra" are stellar representations of modernized Funaná's endless energy.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. It's a Vanity

    It's a Vanity

    Orchestre Poly-Rythmo De Cotonou

    7 inch £9.99

  2. Hello Sailor Edits Vol 5

    Hello Sailor Edits Vol 5


    7 inch £10.99

  3. High Class Woman

    High Class Woman

    Hubert Robinson

    7 inch £5.99

  4. Come into Knowledge

    Come into Knowledge


    LP £16.99

  5. Bumble Bee / Think Twice

    Bumble Bee / Think Twice

    Lavern Baker / Lavern Baker & Jackie Wilson

    7 inch £5.99

  6. When You See Me Hurt / Don't You Know That I Believe
Nhu Djon



Nhu Djon b/w Volta Pa Terra