Visit our YouTube channel

Make Up Your Mind


  • Label: Federal Green
  • Origin: United States
  • Genres: Funk, Jazz Funk, Modern Soul, Northern Soul, Soul, Soul Funk
  • Format: 7 inch
  • Catalogue number: FG003

Availability: In stock


The six musicians who called themselves “Cake” hailed from the capital district of New York. Originally known as “Mixed Company” (based on being a racially mixed band), they changed their name in ‘73 after lineup tweaks finally gave them the sweet ingredients they’d been after. Cake’s one and only single was recorded at Arabellum Studios in Colonie, NY six years post-formation. The two sides, “Make Up Your Mind” and “Let Your Body Go”, are celestial disco funk delicacies -- layered rhythm sections are iced by lighter than air strings and flute. If these tracks can’t get people on a dance floor, in a spaceship, or in a confectioner’s kitchen, I think it’s time to give up on humanity.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Bring Out Yourself

    Bring Out Yourself

    Emperors Soul 69

    7 inch £6.99

  2. Let The Horns Blow

    Let The Horns Blow

    Pat Van Dyke

    7 inch £7.99

  3. More Than A Woman

    More Than A Woman


    7 inch £6.49

  4. In Loving Memory

    In Loving Memory


    7 inch £13.99

  5. Growing Older

    Growing Older

    Great Revivers

    7 inch £8.99

  6. Tearz


    El Michels Affair

    7 inch £9.99

Make Up Your Mind



Make Up Your Mind b/w Let Your Body Go