Visit our YouTube channel

Arthur Verocai

Arthur Verocai

  • Label: Mr Bongo
  • Origin: United Kingdom
  • Genres: Brazilian, Funky Jazz, Jazz Funk, Latin, Tropical, World
  • Format: LP
  • Catalogue number: MRBLP133

Availability: Out of stock


This official reissue of Arthur Verocai's classic self-titled album from 1972 sounds very much like the epitome of a labour of love for Mr Bongo. The press release states the Brighton-based jazz funk archivalists have had this album on top of their reissue hitlist and with the permission of Sir Arthur himself have come through with this official vinyl reissue in newly remastered form from the original Continental master tapes. Do we need to set the scene for this masterclass in long players from Verocai? The ten tracks bristle with sonic fusion, transcending genre to become something more than Brazilian jazz funk across its sublime 29 minutes. Alongside contributing musicians, Verocai invites the listener on a journey through Bossa nova, samba, jazz, MPB, psychedelics and funk.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

  1. Come into Knowledge

    Come into Knowledge


    LP £17.99

  2. Boogie Breakdown: South African Synth Disco 1980-1984
  3. Asafo Beesuon Medley

    Asafo Beesuon Medley

    C.K Mann & His Carousel 7

    LP £17.99

  4. When You See Me Hurt / Don't You Know That I Believe
  5. Afro-Colombian Sound Modernizers

    Afro-Colombian Sound Modernizers

    Son Palenque

    LP £17.99

  6. Tanner Suite

    Tanner Suite

    Lloyd McNeill Quartet

    LP £17.99

Arthur Verocai



Side 1
1.    "Caboclo" (2:48)
2.    "Pelas Sombras" (2:12)
3.    "Sylvia" (3:00)
4.    "Presente Grego" (2:28)
5.    "Dedicada A Ela" (3:30)
Side 2
1.    "Seriado" (1:43)
2.    "Na Boca Do Sol" (2:55)
3.    "Velho Parente" (2:18)
4.    "O Mapa" (2:39)
5.    "Karina" (5:17)